His Captive Bride

 BW

 

 

I clutched my purse in close to my body. It was awfully quiet around here today. Maybe everyone was still sleeping off the night before. It was still early by street standards, only 10:00am and most people slept until 1:00 or 2:00 in the afternoon around here.

I walked right into Rico as I turned the corner. I immediately knew who he was right away. I had heard his description from Mr. Brandon. He wore a white muscle T-shirt with khakis and a bandana was tied around his head. He had extensive tattooing around his neck. The body art that had been done on this man was opulent. This was not some punk with low grade tattoos. This was a man who had gone to great measures, to have it done right. This kind of art work didn’t come cheap.

“Whoa baby, where you going in such a hurry?”

I looked up at the man who stood in front of me casually toying with the toothpick in his mouth.

“Oh, hey, I’m just checking on Mr. Brandon.”

“He ain’t home baby.”

“Oh, well, all right well, thanks.”

Fuck! I have got to get out of here.

“Man, please help me out, this bitch won’t wake-up and the last thing that I need is a dead junkie on my hands.”

“Rico, who gives her the drugs?” I sarcastically stated.

Oh shit! Why did I say that?

“Bitch! When a man asks for help, he ain’t asking for no smart ass bullshit. But nah, you got to make him drop a glock on a bitch!”

“Rico, that is not necessary.” I answered him calmly, as if it was an everyday occurrence to have a gun shoved in my face.

“I turned to make my way towards Rosa’s door and he jabbed me in the back with it.”

It was the only time that I can ever remember looking forward to seeing Rosa. Being alone with Rico was not an idea that I relished.

Rico pinned me into the door, purposely rubbing up against me and I could feel my heart racing, this was not good!

I fell through the door as Rosa opened it with no warning.

“What you duin bringing that ho up in my house.”

“We gonna have ourselves a little party.”

Oh shit, shit, shit, this is not good!

“I ain’t partying wit her.”

Rico pushed me down seating me on the couch and sat down next to me, as he laid his piece on the coffee table in full view. I knew this game: Rico was letting me know who was in control. He wasn’t coming right out and telling me that I wasn’t going anywhere, but he was telling me that I wasn’t going anywhere. The best thing that I could do was not over react. I just needed to act like this was an everyday occurrence. But most of all, the last thing that I needed to emit was fear. He would smell it and he would use it against me.

Just bide your time and this won’t escalate…..I hope……

I waited for Rosa to ask about Precious, good thing that I wasn’t holding my breath is all I can say.

“Hey baby, I need a wakeup call, can I get a line, or a bump, you know baby a lil sumpin, sumpin?”

I eyed Rosa and her hair was matted. She still had sleep in her eyes and her breath stank. I was so glad that Precious wasn’t subject to this anymore; so glad that she wasn’t subject to them anymore.

“What you going give me he drawled at her, but looked at me.”

“I need to go and check on some other people here in the complex,” I said.

“You don’t need to go nowhere!”

My heart sank.

“Well, really I need to be going; I have to work later.”

He pushed down on my upper legs, “I said, no!”

Damn, this guy is holding me against my will, without coming right and kidnapping me.

“In fact, I think that you should do a line with us.”

“I don’t do drugs Rico, ever.”

He continued calmly breaking up lines on a mirror, as if he hadn’t heard me.

“No blunt, no nuttin, huh? Little……. Miss………. Lily…….. White……. Are you Lily white?”

He held the mirror up to Rosa with a rolled up $100.00 bill.

My stomach lurched: as she began gyrating on him after she finished.

Please, don’t let them get started with me here, I just want out…

“Get off me Bitch!” Rico said. He tossed her to the side as if she were garbage. “You ain’t got no manners, ain’t offered us nuttin to drink, no water, no nuttin. You got guests, ho. Be a good ho-stess and get us sumpin.” He jabbed my knee, laughing at his own joke. “You get that Lily white, ‘Ho-stess?’”

I do think that it’s funny.

I viewed a roach crawling up the wall, “I’m fine, but thank you, I don’t need anything to drink.” I was trying to avoid laughing at his joke, due to not wanting to get into it with her.

I gagged as I viewed the cock roach’s tentacles twitch. I was dealing with more anxiety from the roach, than the gun on the table.

Tyrone leaned over and snorted up three lines and I began to see an instant change.

“Alright, alright, alright, here is what we gonna do; you smoke some of this blunt and then you can check on your little friend. There ya go, let me see you toke on that.”

His demeanor changed when I hesitated and I grabbed it, taking a small enough drag to not be affected.

“Nah, you playin me, yeah you must think I’m stupid. You know I might not like the idea of a bitch insulting my intelligence; cause if I thought you was playin me. Go on and take a hit off that blunt girl, like you mean it. I’d hate to have to get nasty about it. You rude, uppity white ass bitch; hit that blunt like you mean it, Guera!

The last thing that I need is a pissed off, coked up, dope slingin, gang bangin, ho lovin, man on my hands.

“Yeah, that’s it; you sure you ain’t never got high? You hitten that blunt like you have done this before. Maybe little Miss. Lily White; ain’t all she is projecting. You got a dark side girl?”

“I never said, that I never did get high before,” I giggled. “Hey, what’s in that stuff?”

“Heroin, baby girl….Heroin…….”

An excerpt from ‘His Captive Bride.’

Available on Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Suzanne-Steele/e/B00C9L6YRQ

©2014 Suzanne Steele

Talk to me

