Innate

Innate

It didn’t take long for me to learn that if I was going to stay safe, sane and of any use to anyone; that I would have to grab onto literature in the form of reading and writing. It was and has been a survival mechanism for me from my earliest years. It really has been a sort of lifeline, in this crazy and mixed up world that I have learned to navigate in. I can remember as a child being huddled up in a hallway with books surrounding me; as I read the encyclopedias that had been purchased by my Grandmother, from the nice travelling salesman. I knew at a young age that I ‘felt’ things much more intensely than others. I just didn’t realize that it was because I was an artist, an Author, a lover of literature. You see those traits can’t be taught, for they are innate…
©2014 Suzanne Steele

Talk to me

